Historic District Commission


The Historic District Commission is charged, by township ordinance, to:

  • Advance the historical interests of the Township
  • Effect a useable and maintainable archive of historic material
  • Foster civic beauty
  • Promote the use of historic districts for the education, pleasure, and welfare of the citizens of Pittsfield Charter Township and of the State of Michigan
  • Promote township identity through public awareness of the history of Pittsfield Township
  • Safeguard the heritage of Pittsfield Charter Township by preserving historic districts that reflect elements of its history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, or culture
  • Stabilize and improve property values in each district and surrounding areas
  • Strengthen the local economy

Agendas & Minutes

All agendas are subject to revision at the time of the meeting. Meeting notices will be posted in compliance with PA 267 of 1976 as amended (Open Meetings Act), MCLA 41.72a (2) (3), and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).


The Historic District Commission is comprised of nine members who are appointed to one, two, or three year terms:

  • D.K. Donegan
  • Annette Ferguson, Secretary
  • Janice Harwood
  • Betty LeClair
  • Susan McDowell
  • Al Paas, Chair
  • Helen Richards
  • Patricia Tupacz Scribner, Treasurer
  • Mary Ellen Wall, Vice Chair


  • 5:30 PM
  • First Wednesday of the following months: February, April, May, June, September, and November
  • Large conference room at the Township Administration Building, located at 6201 West Michigan Avenue, Ann Arbor, MI 48108.
View the annual meeting schedule

Individuals with disabilities requiring auxiliary aids or services should contact the Clerk's Office 3 business days prior to the meeting. The Clerk's Office can be reached at 734.822.3120 or via email at clerk@pittsfield-mi.gov.